Depending on the permissions of your user account, you can create, modify, and delete other user accounts.
Once an account has been created, the name, role, and email address cannot be changed. You would need to disable, delete, and then re-add the user with the correct information.
Users can only be created with a non-trial license key and using the same computer that activated Marvin's license. If you're unsure which computer was used, you can always deactivate and then reactivate the license on your computer first. Reference the managing software license article for more information.
- To start, click the add button in the header.
|user name||Provide a unique account name, which will be used for logging in. Spaces are okay, but special characters are not allowed.|
|role||Choose the level of permissions for the user. Reference the understanding roles article for more details.|
|email address||Provide a valid email address. If you'd like to send the user their new account name and temporary password, check the box.|
|initial password||Provide a temporary password, which the user will be prompted to change when they log in. The password must be at least 8 characters, and certain special characters are not allowed.|
- Once you've filled out every field (all are required), click add to create the account.
- Accounts are enabled by default.
- Disable an account by toggling the switch to the inactive position. Disabling an account will prevent that user from being able to log in again. However, it does not immediately log them out of the app.
- You cannot disable your own account while logged in.
- For security reasons, once you have added other users, you should disable the trial account to prevent unauthorized access.
- If a user forgets their password or you need to change someone's password, click the key in the reset password column. This will set a new, temporary password and email it to them. They will be prompted to change it when they log in.
- To change your own password, click the key for your account name.
- The password for the trial account cannot be reset.
- The password for disabled accounts cannot be reset.
- An asterisk (*) next to the key indicates that the user has not yet logged in and/or updated their password. This symbol is only visible to admin users.
- Only disabled accounts can be deleted.
- Once an account has been disabled, click the minus button at the end of the row.
- The trial account cannot be deleted.
- You cannot delete your own account while logged in.